You’ve likely heard the saying since middle school: “Don’t drink and drive”. That’s because driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs greatly influences your ability to drive safely. Driving under the influence doesn’t just affect the people who are driving drunk or high. The people it affects most are the innocent victims who have their lives turned upside down in an instant.
What Is a DUI?
Arizona law makes it unlawful for a person to “drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle”…
Driving under any of these conditions is considered driving under the influence, or DUI.
What Are the DUI Penalties in Arizona?
A person convicted of DUI for the first time…
If a person is convicted of DUI for a second time within 84 months of the first conviction (or under certain other circumstances), the person…
“Extreme” DUI is the condition of having a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more (i.e., about twice the legal limit or higher) within two hours of driving or being in control of a vehicle.
A person who commits extreme DUI…
A driver who has a second extreme DUI conviction within 84 months of the first one…
What is Aggravated DUI?
Aggravated DUI occurs when a person…
A person convicted of aggravated DUI…
How Many Car Accidents Are Caused By Drunk Driving?
Of the 129,750 car crashes in Arizona in 2019, 4,907 of them were drunk driving accidents, which accounts for nearly 4%. Of those, 85% occurred in Maricopa County.
How Much More Likely Are You to Crash While Drunk?
Let’s talk about this in terms of beer. Everyone’s tolerance is different, but generally speaking, 2 beers puts you at a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.04- half the legal limit. Let’s say you have 2 more beers to put your BAC at 0.08 (the legal limit). At this point, a driver is 11 times more likely to get into a crash than a person who has not drank.
Let’s have 2 more beers- a 6 pack. Your BAC is now at least 0.10, and you are 48 times more likely to crash than someone who hasn’t drank.
You’ve had a 6 pack already- say you have 2 more beers. Your BAC is now approximately 0.15, you are 380 times more likely to have an accident, and if you drive you are committing extreme DUI.
Is Arizona a 0 Tolerance State?
Arizona is a no tolerance, or 0 tolerance, state for DUI offenses. This means that you can be arrested for having a BAC of less than 0.08, particularly if you are driving recklessly.
Resources Near You
Get Help Now
At the Thompson Law Firm, we have more than 10 years of experience helping clients obtain compensation for their personal injuries from car accidents, including pedestrian accidents. When you’re ready to talk, please contact our office to arrange a free initial consultation by phone or at our Chandler office.
If you have been in a car accident that is not your fault, contact Thompson Law Firm in Chandler, AZ to speak with an experienced personal injury attorney. We provide personal injury legal services to clients in the greater Phoenix area including Chandler, Gilbert, Mesa, Scottsdale, Tempe, Maricopa, Globe, and Queen Creek.
Get in touch with us today for your free consultation.Schedule Now
Call (480) 634-7480 & Speak To One Of Our AttorneysSubmit your information and we will reach out soon