2014 – AZ Traffic Accident Laws

After A Car Accident

Know the Law in Arizona

2014 - AZ traffic accident laws 1

You know you’re driving in Arizona when you drive two laps around a parking lot just to find a shady place. But the sunny state of Arizona?s roads has created some sobering traffic accident statistics from this past year. According to Azdot.gov, injuries caused from auto accidents resulted in an average of 2.31 persons being killed every day on an Arizona highway. In fact one person is injured on an Arizona highway every 10.46 minutes. In the wake of a New Year, taking the time to review traffic regulations and Arizona traffic accident rules to avoid paying fines and to avoid even possible prison time is most prudent. Arizona traffic accident laws are intended to protect all vehicles journeying on the Grand Canyon State roadways. While Arizona motorists enjoy one of the fastest speed limits in the United States; 75 mph interstate, remember to be alert and stay safe.


Top Three Arizona Traffic Accident Laws Include:

Hit & Run- In Arizona, leaving the scene of a car accident that results in a fatality is in violation of the law. Hit and run is considered an Arizona class 3 misdemeanor, and fines can reach as high as $500. With jail stay’s that can last up to 30 days.

Without intending to, the new Arizona immigration law that requires law enforcement to check for the immigration status of anyone not having the correct paperwork, may increase the number of hit and run accidents on Arizona highways this year. Statistics from the top seven U.S. states that have illegal immigrants, rank the same top seven states as reporting the highest rates of hit and run traffic accidents. Arizona ranks second in the nation for hit and run accidents.

When Vehicle Damage Occurs –In Arizona, any accident that causes damage to a vehicle requires a driver involved in the collision to stop as soon as possible. After coming to a safe stop, any persons involved in an auto accident must perform the subsequent tasks:

  1. Provide a name, address, and registration to the other driver and the police officer on the scene.
  1. Be able to provide a valid driver?s license.
  1. In the case of any injury, provide first aid or actively secure medical help for injured victims. Any driver who fails to offer assistance may get charge with a class 3 misdemeanor.
  1. DUI – In the state of Arizona, when a person chooses to drive under the influence and causes an accident, he or she is liable for damages. Law enforcement officials are allowed a 2-hour window of time to test a person?s alcohol level following an arrest for DUI. So, if a driver refuses to take a breathalyzer or blood test, it will result in an automatic one year license suspension.


What to Do If You Are In an Accident

Accidents can happen. If you get injuries in an auto accident, there are certain precautions you should take to protect yourself.

  • Never apologize or tell anyone the accident was your fault. Doing so is admitting that you are legally responsible for the accident. This type of on scene confession can expose you to future lawsuits or fines or possibly even jail time.? Stay polite, offer your driver information and stay calm.
  • If get injuries in a car accident, do not wait to seek medical attention. Go to the hospital. Inform all medical personnel of your insurance both auto and health. Depending on the type of auto insurance you carry, your auto policy limits could reach in one hospitalization. If this happens, your health insurance will turn to for coverage.
  • If contacted shortly after the accident by the other driver?s insurance company, never discuss your injury or your accident without consulting an attorney. The other driver’s insurance company may try to record your conversation or ask leading questions that can be used against you later as testimony. You are under no obligation to speak to them at all. After an accident, even if you have had no chance to call an attorney, tell the insurance company that you have not yet secured legal counsel, and you will speak to them at a later time when you are feeling better. Focus instead on getting better.
  • Make sure you register your own insurance claim quickly. Some insurance companies have limitations on filing claims.


In conclusion, if you get injuries in an auto accident, please contact the legal professionals at Thompson Law Firm at 480-634-7480. At the Thompson Law Firm, we have more than 10 years of experience helping clients deal with the aftermath of personal injuries. We are here to help. We are happy to arrange a free consultation to advise you of your rights.

Comments are closed.